Countries in Soviet Union

At its peak, there were 15 countries in the Soviet Union, or republics as they were formally known.  When the Soviet Union was dissolved, they each became independent countries.  You can see a map of these Soviet Republics here:

The full list of Soviet countries is as follows:

  • Russian SFSR (since 1922).  Today known as Russia
  • Ukrainian SSR (since 1922). Today known as Ukraine
  • Uzbek SSR (since 1924). Today known as Uzbekistan
  • Kazakh SSR (since 1236). Today known as Kazakhstan
  • Belorussian SSR (since 1922). Today known as Belarus
  • Azerbaijan SSR (since 1936). Today known as Azerbaijan
  • Georgian SSR (since 1936). Today known as Georgia
  • Tajik SSR (since 1929). Today known as Tajikistan
  • Modovian SSR (since 1940). Today known as Moldova
  • Kirghiz SSR (since 1935). Today known as Kyrgyzstan
  • Lithuanian SSR (since 1940). Today known as Lithuania
  • Turkmen SSR (since 1924). Today know as Turkmenistan
  • Armenian SSR (since 1936). Today known as Armenia
  • Latvian SSR (since 1940). Today known as Latvia
  • Estonian SSR (since 1940).  Today known as Estonia.

Three of these countries – the Russian SFSR, the Ukrainian SSR and the Belorussian SSR – were founder members of the United Nations.  The others didn’t gain a seat at the UN until they gained independence from the Soviet Union.

A number of other republics were also briefly a part of the USSR.  They included:

  • The Abkhazian SSR
  • The Transcaucasian SFSR
  • The Khorezm SSR
  • The Bukharan SSR
  • The Karelo-Finnish SSR

Most of these states were formed in the early days of the Soviet Union, and few lasted for more than a couple of years.  The longest surviving was the Karelo-Finnish SSR which existed for 16 years, between 1940 and 1956, before being re-incorporated in the Russian SFSR.